Beethoven, Tower, and Adams (Nov. 9, Lowell)

Saturday, November 9, 2019 at 7 PM

Durgin Hall, University of Massachusetts Lowell

Featuring Cynthia Woods, Music Director

Symphony No. 9 in D minor


Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 1

Ludwig van Beethoven

John Adams

Joan Tower

General admission is free for this event (Nov. 9 only).
Indra Thomas, soprano
Joanna Porackova, mezzo soprano
Javier Abreu, tenor
Ron Loyd, baritone


In collaboration with the University Choir and Chamber ChoirUniversity of Massachusetts Lowell
Jonathan Richter, director


The Cambridge Symphony Orchestra joins forces with four returning CSO soloists Indra Thomas, Joanna Porackova, Javier Abreu,and Ron Loyd and the University Choir and Chamber Choir from University of Massachusetts Lowell (Jonathan Richter, director), to present two powerful works for chorus and orchestra, one classic and one contemporary, side-by-side in concert.

Ludwig van Beethoven completed his Symphony No. 9 (1824) three years before his death. This monumental final symphony, a masterpiece of lyrical beauty and heroic triumph, moves toward utopian celebration with the stirring “Ode to Joy,” for which Beethoven introduced soloists and chorus into a major symphony for the first time. 

As a modern complement to Beethoven’s Ninth, John Adams‘ minimalist choral work Harmonium (1981) sets to music the haunting poetry of John Donne and Emily Dickinson. Adams has described the genesis of his composition as “one of human voices – many of them – riding upon waves of rippling sound.” The program opens with Joan Tower‘s Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman No. 1 (1986) performed by the CSO brass.


The Cambridge Symphony Orchestra thanks the Massachusetts Cultural Council for supporting our 2019-20 season.