Free Concert! On Record: Music by Bach and Brahms

Saturday, March 18, 2017 at 3 PM

Cambridge Public Library

Featuring Cambridge Symphony Chamber Players

Sextet, Opus 36

Brandenburg Concerto No. 2

Johannes Brahms

Johann Sebastian Bach

Come celebrate the music of the spheres with the Cambridge Symphony Orchestra Chamber Players!
Our first piece for the afternoon is currently catapulting through space aboard the Voyager spacecraft. In 1977 (40 years ago), NASA compiled a variety of images and sounds onto a “Golden Record.” This gift to potential recipients outside our solar system was meant, in the words of President Jimmy Carter, to represent “our hope and our determination and our goodwill in a vast and awesome universe.”

Selections from the first movement of Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 are on the Golden Record.

BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 — in celebration of the 40th anniversary of the launch of Voyager’s Golden Record into space

Elizabeth Petri Henske, flute
Carolyn Damon Hayes, oboe
Brian Bunnell, trumpet
Josh Garstka, violin
Cynthia Gerlein, violin
Ryan Roelke, viola
Nathaniel Fruchter, cello
Rebecca Benson, cello

The opening notes of our second piece are particularly strange and ethereal (even from Brahms)… like space itself.

BRAHMS: Sextet, Opus 36

Steven Lehr, violin
Regina Cheung, violin
Rachel Beesen, viola
Tze-Ping Low, viola
Joydita Sarkar, cello
April Greene-Colozzi, cello
Cambridge Symphony Chamber Players