Dancing with Demons

Saturday, June 15, 2019 at 8 PM

Kresge Auditorium, MIT

Featuring pianist Max Levinson

Symphonie fantastique

The Oak

Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini

Hector Berlioz

Florence Price

Sergei Rachmaninoff

The Cambridge Symphony Orchestra offers its first-ever performance of the symphonic poem The Oak by Florence Price, an early-twentieth-century African-American composer whose works are experiencing a major contemporary renaissance thanks to her distinctive voice.
Max Levinson, a member of the piano faculty at both Boston Conservatory and the New England Conservatory, will join the CSO for Rachmaninoff’s devilish Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini.
The concert will conclude with Berlioz’s hallucinatory 1830 Symphonie fantastique, a Romantic narrative about an obsessive love (or idée fixe) turned grotesque in the “March to the Scaffold” and “Dream of a Witches’ Sabbath.”


The Cambridge Symphony Orchestra thanks the Massachusetts Cultural Council for supporting our 2018-19 season.