Masterworks: A Midsummer Night’s Dance

Saturday, June 16, 2018 at 8 PM

Kresge Auditorium at MIT

Featuring Cambridge Symphony Orchestra

A Midsummer Night's Dream, incidental music

Suite No. 2 from Daphnis et Chloé

Fanfare for Brass

Felix Mendelssohn

Maurice Ravel

Philip Sawyers



Gianni Di Marco, choreographer

Vira Slywotzky, soprano

Joanna Porackova, soprano

With the New England Conservatory Women’s Chorus

Jonathan Richter, director


In June, the CSO is thrilled to collaborate for the second time with the choreographer Gianni Di Marco, as well as the New England Conservatory Women’s Chorus, in a ballet performance of Felix Mendelssohn’s impish and luminous incidental music for Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The piece takes the listener on a magical journey of nocturnes, dances, and the famous Wedding March, with our two honored guest soloists singing the sprightly vocal “melodramas.”


The program also includes Ravel’s luxurious Suite No. 2 from Daphnis et Chloé, and a Fanfare by the British composer Philip Sawyers to display the majesty of the CSO’s brass section.



The Cambridge Symphony Orchestra thanks the Massachusetts Cultural Council for supporting our 2017-18 season.






Get Directions